The Promise

An Update on My School Situation

Much as been happening in Celestine Land here lately, and since I stopped posting on a schedule and asking for help, I figure I owe y’all an explanation.

I stopped for two very simple reasons:

  1. I wasn’t receiving any help, for which I don’t blame anyone. I’m a stranger to most of you, and most of you are probably in similar financial situations as I am.
  2. I changed my degree plans, which means I will not be attending UNT, regardless.

Originally, my plans after finishing my B.S. in Psychology were to pursue a Master’s degree in Speech Language Pathology. I needed help because at UNT, if you don’t have an undergraduate degree in SLP, you need to take leveling classes to be on the same level as those who do have a Bachelor’s in SLP. Those leveling classes are not covered by financial aid of any kind, and they don’t guarantee that you’ll be accepted to the Master’s program.

However, my plans changed. My mom is part of the reason, because she half-talked me out of SLP. She’s a nurse, and she kept pointing out to me how much bodily fluids are involved in SLP work. Now, I’m okay with blood. Blood doesn’t bother me that much. But spit and phlegm that’s not mine? Those bother me, and those would be a large part of my work as an SLP.

Then there’s the simple fact that I’ve fallen in love with psychology. I really do enjoy it, and I feel connected to it in a way that is nearly spiritual, because I find that psychology and my Pagan spirituality mesh really well. This is probably because a lot of Neo-Pagan concepts come from psychology.

Specifically, I’m going to pursue a Master’s degree in Industrial/Organizational Psychology. Basically, the psychology of the work place, what makes us tick at work, why we work, why we don’t, and what makes a good work environment. I’m pretty certain than an I/O psychologist has been working behind the scenes of almost every corporation or business that has made radical overhauls to the way they operate for the sake of their employees, and I love that, and I want to be part of that. Whether or not I will actually manage to break into that side of I/O remains to be seen, because a lot of I/O psychologists also work in HR and staffing, or employee evaluations. Either way, I intend to work toward better work conditions for the employees usually at the bottom end of the totem pole.

That will, hopefully, begin this September. Meanwhile, I’m looking for work to keep me busy (and bringing in at least a little money) over the summer.

I haven’t abandoned this blog, or Celestine Gamer (and I’ve even created a writing blog). But I probably won’t post here regularly. I’ll resume posting when I feel inspired to do so.

Thank you all for reading, and thank you to everyone who wanted to help and simply couldn’t. I’ll see you in the next post.

–Celestine

Leave a Reply

